is movie popcorn gluten free

A question from one of our readers: Is Movie Popcorn Gluten Free?

I had the munchies last time I was at the movie theater… but I was a little to scared to buy a pottle of my own pop corn just in case it caused a reaction.

Can anyone tell me if certain cinemas use gluten free pop corn brands or if they have had any positive or negative experience with gluten in movie pop corn?

I would be fantastic to be able to have a treat like this when I went to the movies.. I guess I could bring my own, but there is something about buying it their.

Answer:

The corn kernels are gluten free – but it is the buttery topping that can be an issue. As different movie theaters stock different brands, it would pay to ring them and ask what brand they are using, then let your fingers do the walking – and google if that brand is gluten free.

I like to BYO my own caramel honey popcorn – (not much of a butter fan) so I know the ingredients before I go.

Has anyone done this in Australia?

I would love it if you could leave a comment below and let the readers know any cinemas you have checked are gluten friendly :D.

  • Gluten Free Aussie

    Movie Popcorn.
    by: Vee

    I concur with the other’s, I had Village popcorn yesterday, and didn’t have a issue, seem to be fine, no Bloat at all.

  • Gluten Free Aussie

    Popcorn
    by: Anonymous

    I eat village theatre popcorn all the time, I’m usually fine

  • Gluten Free Aussie

    Hoyts popcorn is gluten free
    by: Sonja

    From the Hoyts website:

    Hoyts Popcorn Ingredients & Nutrition*:
    Seed: raw corn
    Oil: Coconut oil and flavouring 160A
    Salt: Colour 102 – tartrazine
    No gluten, wheat or lactose
    Energy 475kj
    Protein 1.8g
    Fat: total 7.1g, saturated 6.1g, cholesterol 1.0mg
    Carbohydrates: total 11.2g – sugars 0.1g, sodium 310mg

    *Based on 25g of popcorn [Hoyts Small Popcorn] Estimate figures. Subject to seasonal, preparation and on-site variations. Corn is grown in Australia.

    http://www.hoyts.com.au/Meta_Data/Footer/FAQ.aspx

  • Gluten Free Aussie

    my experince
    by: Lisa

    I have had popcorn from hoyts and was fine, but I guess you’ll just have to try it.

  • Amanda

    The popcorn at Reading Cinema (the one at Rhodes, Sydney) is gluten free. They told me it was supplied by Superpop and i contacted them and they confirmed it is gluten free. Yeah! My daughter ate some and was fine.